The Value of Death


Series One: Post Six

The Value of Death

Imagine you could know everything that was going to happen days, weeks, months, or years in advance of the actual time and place of the occurrence. Imagine also, nothing you could do between now and the time of the event would change the outcome. If your knowledge of the future told you it would be a dreadful experience, what would you do in the interim? 

Would you try to change the future knowing that this simply was not possible? Would you live in constant fear awaiting this dreaded affair? Would you make up stories so as to not accept that the future event would ever happen? Or, would you live as well as you could in the time you had?

I think everyone must determine their own answers to these and similar questions, and I think we all do answer thesdeath_everyonee  questions whether we spend a lot of time thinking about them or not. This hypothetic is not so hypothetical if you consider that most people consider death to be a dreadful experience. Few if any know the exact date and time, but we all know we face this future.

What we don’t know, and rightfully so, is how things will play out in between now and then, and of course, we don’t know what will happen afterwards though we have good reason to expect that the afterlife will be much like the before life. Whatever we experienced prior to what we experience now, is likely what we will experience after. Any fantastic story that says otherwise is just that, a fantastic story.

Death and the Diamonddiamond

It seems completely ridiculous for anyone to find value in death and morbid for me to mention such an idea. If I could quickly explain though, the value of death is that it sets a time limit on this game of life we all play. It also has a substantial impact on our psyche, beliefs, philosophy, and behavior while we live. From the ancient pharaoh to the modern commoner, the fear of death certainly plays a part in how we live.

Like most things we come to understand about ourselves and our opportunity at life, the conclusions we arrive at concerning death greatly influence how we live. My conclusions concerning death are inextricably linked to my understanding of nature, and I accept that which I know to be true—I will die someday. In fact, if it were possible to live forever, I am not sure I would want to. I may occasionally procrastinate as things are now, I think if I knew I would live forever, I would never get anything done.

“The permanence of death makes life a limited thing, and scarcity increases the value of all commodities. Life is a diamond, and death is the reason this diamond has value.”

–Steven Clear

 

One thought on “The Value of Death

  1. I know future events, like the back of my hand yet I spend no time at all worrying about them. Not all future events, but some. It does not bother me at all. When your perspective is that of knowing the future worry and fear as we know it do not exist. That makes the hypothetical question rather moot.

Leave a Reply

