A Socratic Dialogue: Part Two


Part Two

Slightly frustrated and with a full bladder, Nancy excuses herself to the toilet seeking refuge from the mind-numbing inquiry. After a few minutes of refreshing her mind and relieving her bladder, she feels fully prepared to re-engage Sid.

-Nancy: The past existed, the present exists, and the future will exist. I know the past existed, I was born, but I am not being born at this moment.

-Sid: How do you know you were born? Maybe you have always existed just as you are now.

-N: Of course I was born, everybody is born. I was in the room when my niece was born.

-S: So, in the past that no longer exists, you were in the room when your niece was born.

-N: Isn’t that what I just said?

-S: Indeed you did.

-N: How do you know I just said I was in the room when my niece was born?

-S: Because I was here, listening to you, and I know what you are doing.

-N: What am I doing?

-S: You are trying to flip the script by asking me questions.

-N: Is that what I am doing?

-S: I think so. Is that what you are doing?

-N: No.

-S: Then what are you doing?

-N: I am trying to show you how I know I was born.

-S: How so?

-N: By showing you that I know how people are born the same way you know what I just said. I was in the room when my niece was born, so I know how people are born because I was there.

-S: Okay, I get that. The same as I know what you said moments ago, even though that is now technically the past and no longer exists.

-N: Yes. The past no longer exists, but it did, and I know because I was there.

-S: So that is how you know you were born, what about me? I was never in the room when anyone was born.
Should I also know that I was born for the same reason you know you were born?

-N: You were in the room when you were born. I think that counts. Plus, I think that is a ridiculous question. Of course you know you were born.

Stepping back from the table, Sid replies, “I don’t know, and I don’t think that is a ridiculous question. I will be back. I’m getting a refill, you want anything?”

Part Three coming soon…

Begin at the beginning, check out Part One.

Thanks for stopping by. Have a look around and tell me what you think. Link to Blog Page.

One thought on “A Socratic Dialogue: Part Two

  1. Pingback: A Socratic Dialogue: Part One | Atheists in Action

Leave a Reply

