I Understand Religion


How do we know we are angry? I guess a blood pressure cuff might help and a brain scan at the time of anger where we could see the different parts of the brain go active. What about sad? How do we know we are sad? I guess we cry sometimes, or we ignore things we might otherwise do.  

When something bad happens that is out of our control, we might get angry, we might get sad, and we might feel a lot of things. For example,  

My truck wouldn’t start today. My girlfriend and I joked, maybe if I prayed, it would start next time I try. Then I thought, maybe it’s not starting now because I don’t pray. She said, “You don’t need god, you need a mechanic.”

 An astute point, and I love her sense of reason. Of course, this situation is trying. I have been on a tight schedule anyway, pushing really hard to make things happen, and this. I am completely shut down till I fix this.

 The point, in our laughter, in our effort to make light of a shitty situation, I learned a bit more about religion by accident.

I could say God stopped my truck so I could rest. I could say God stopped my truck because I didn’t pray properly. I could say God stopped my truck just to piss with me and watch me struggle. I could say pretty much anything, add the word God, and call it intervention.

If I pray and the truck starts, God did it. If I don’t pray and it starts, God did it. If I cuss God and the truck starts, God loves me.

God Loves Me.

It doesn’t matter, religion is an answer. Doesn’t matter if it’s a good answer, so long as it answers something.

Be well my friends.

Leave a Reply

